Worried….

Warning. This post concerns kitty body functions. And I’m not talking purring.

So, about two or three months ago, my younger neutered male kitty, Max, clearly developed a problem with his bowels. He was leaving tiny bits of poo all over the house. We weren’t sure where it was coming from at first (3 animals share this space)…but one morning he was totally distressed and was walking from room to room, crying and hissing and depositing a tiny “gift” everywhere he went. Mystery solved.

So, I got on the internet and learned that totally indoor cats sometimes develop bowel problems because they don’t get enough exercise. And it’s further aggravated by a diet heavy in dry food. So, I got him some soft, canned food…and even stirred more water into it. He gets most of a can every day. I also put a little bit of cod liver oil on it, hoping that would loosen him up a bit. I don’t know if that’s appropriate or not. Seemed to make sense.

I really haven’t noticed a lot of improvement. And tonight…he’s bleeding. I mean, I don’t think he’s going to bleed out, or anything….but he’s leaving bloody spots. And a little mucus sometimes. Clearly, my home remedy isn’t working. I’ve got to get him to the vet tomorrow.

I can’t afford a major pet illness. I’m worried for him…and for me.

I’m also worried about the battle that will come in the morning when I try to load him into a carrier. He’s a BIG boy! He can stand on his hind legs and peer over the kitchen counter! He HATES to be picked up. HATES to be handled. HATES, HATES, HATES going into a carrier. And he’s just going to be thrilled with what comes AFTER being loaded into the carrier! Tomorrow is going to be a bad day. I can see it in my crystal ball.

But, it’s got to happen. Can’t have my big boy pooping blood all over everywhere. I am so worried about him!

UPDATE

22 hours and $325 later, the crisis has passed. Max has suffered a ruptured anal gland. Nasty, scary and obviously quite painful. I didn’t even know cats HAD anal glands. He had to be sedated so the thing could be cleaned and medicated. We were sent home with 3 prescriptions, prescription food to help him “loosen up” and lots of instructions. He’s sitting next to me right now, patting me on the shoulder and commenting on my blogging. In other words…life is back to normal. If you don’t count the wound on his nether regions and the damage to my credit card. SIGH….

Tags:

One Response to “Worried….”

  1. noble pig Says:

    Oh no, glad it all turned out okay…vet bills are killer aren’t they?

Leave a Reply

