Simple Pleasures

Even though this weekend is projected to be the hottest of the year so far, I decided to get out and poke around a bit. This little farmer’s market is less than five miles from my house. Counting this visit, how many times have I been there this summer?

Twice.

I’m an idiot sometimes.

It’s got a little bit of everything. Herbs….

And lots of flowers.

I’m not sure how I left without some of this man’s glads.

And, of course, lots of veggies. I try to buy from people who appear to be “real” farmers. They’re in the minority. Most are just people who buy produce by the case somewhere else and hawk it here. I got some great-looking fresh blackeyed peas from an elderly couple. And tomatoes from the girl who operated this booth.

I stopped long enough to enjoy a bit of entertainment with my ‘maters.

But, the ultimate treat was a simple shave ice on the way out. My tongue’s still blue!

Not a bad way to start the weekend. Blue tongue and all.

2 Responses to “Simple Pleasures”

  1. noble pig Says:

    I love the Farmer’s Market too, your’s looks very nice.

  2. IowaCowgirl Says:

    That is the COOLEST farmer’s market I have ever seen! wow!

Leave a Reply

