Field Trip!

Every day I drive past this field which is part of a public park/wetlands conservation area. Throughout the year, it contains an ever-changing array of growing things. Sometimes it’s corn (and later, a corn maze)…sometimes it’s cotton…sometimes it’s stuff I can’t identify. But, right now, it’s…

sunflowerfield3bgr

SUNFLOWERS!

Who doesn’t love sunflowers? I decided to spend my lunch hour exploring the sunflower patch. I’d never looked at them so closely before. I discovered that I like them in all sorts of ways.

I like them unborn….

 

sunflowerunbornbgr

 

I like them as babies….

 

sunflowerbabybgr

 

 

 

I like them in profile….

 

sunbathingbgr

 

 

I even like their little backsides!

 

sunflowerbacksidebgr

 

 

I like them in groups!

 

sunflowergroupbgr

 

But mostly, I like them up close and personal.

 

sunflowercloseup3bgr

 

Who knew they were so complex?

 

sunflowercloseup4bgr

 

 

I picked a day when the heat index was well over 100. But, I figured sunflowers wait for no one, so I risked heat stroke and enjoyed every minute of it.

Tomorrow, I’ll show you who else was enjoying the sunflowers.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Field Trip!”

  1. Romi Says:

    Thanks for the comment on my blog.

    Those are some beautiful sunflower pictures.

  2. noble pig Says:

    Those pics are beautiful. Thank you for sharing them.

  3. Gettysburg Mom Says:

    Sunflowers are oh-so pretty. We have an unplanned sunflower in the flower beds. I didn’t plant it, but we are certainly enjoying it! Great pics. Thanks for risking heat stroke. Now go get yourself an icy cold cocktail to cool off…

  4. iPost Says:

    Amazing photos! Hooray! We had a field last year and I kept putting off pics until it was too late. Note to self~go check this year! You’ve inspired me :0)

Leave a Reply

