Brown Sugar Spritz

I mentioned earlier that one of my goals for this year is to rewrite my personal cookbook. I put it together for Christmas gifts decades ago and gave one to all my family and friends who cook. Of course, for years I’ve heard several complaints about how I didn’t give the complainant THEIR copy of the book. I did. It’s blue. And small. Look again. Nonetheless, there has been a small but consistent demand for a reprint.

This time, I’m going to do it up right…with photos and everything! Like this one, for instance.

I’m busy sorting through and retyping everything, and it occurred to me….this thing is just full of sweets! To read my cookbook, you’d think it was always Dessert Time at my house. Well, admittedly, I do have a sweet tooth. However, when I prepare protein and vegetables, I keep it pretty simple. They’re either grilled, roasted or sauteed with garlic and onion. The sort of thing you’re not tempted to document in a cookbook. At least, I’m not!

So, that’s all I’m going to say about the preponderance of sweets. It is what it is. Here’s the first installment.

I love brown sugar. Everything’s better made with brown sugar. And a good spritz cookie can’t be beat. So buttery and tender! Yummmmm! These little morsels are just what you need with that morning tea.


Brown Sugar Spritz Cookies

1 Cup Butter, Softened
1 Cup Brown Sugar, Packed
3 Egg Yolks
¼ Cup Cream (Milk’s OK…but Cream’s better)
1 Teaspoon Vanilla
½ Teaspoon Baking Powder
3 Cups All-Purpose Flour

In large bowl of mixer, cream butter and sugar until light. Beat in egg yolks, cream and vanilla until smooth and fluffy. Mix baking powder into flour in a separate bowl. Add flour mixture to wet ingredients and stir until blended. If dough seems too soft, chill. Place dough in cookie press and press into shapes on ungreased cool cookie sheet. Bake in preheated 375 degree oven 8 to 10 minutes or until edges are light golden. Makes about 90 cookies. If you don’t have a cookie press, roll into balls and flatten as for peanut butter cookies…or roll into a log, chill and slice crosswise into discs before baking.

I hope you get to try these. Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

