I’m Expecting a New Baby!

No, no, no!  Not THAT kind of new baby!  THIS kind of new baby –

canon70dOf all the hobbies I pursue, photography is the most enduring.  I keep coming back to it.  Decade after decade.  I’m not all that good at it – just good enough to frustrate myself.  But, I enjoy it nonetheless.  This month is one of those rare months where we get three paydays instead of the normal two.  I should have saved that little windfall, but money is less tight right now than it has been in quite a while.  So I gifted myself!    Not only did I get a new camera…it came with all these goodies:

accessories

I will never use some of them, I’m sure.  But, some will get a real workout.  I also got extra cards and a couple of guidebooks.  The learning curve is very steep on today’s digital SLRs.

I’ve been shooting with an entry-level Nikon, and while I do get some really nice photos now and then, it sometimes disappoints me, and some of its features are not what I would like.  Plus, it handles reds and other bright, saturated colors with a bit of a heavy hand.  I have been very impressed with the images I’ve seen from the 70D.  Can’t wait to get my hands on it!  Monday.  Yay!

The trees are threatening to start turning.  Any day now.  We have discussed the aforementioned possible trip to Petit Jean State Park.  Looks like we may squeeze in at least one overnighter.  Now it’s just a question of timing.  I hope to have an opportunity soon to shoot a few more memorable shots of fall color, similar to these from a day trip to Big Hill Pond State Park a few years ago.  How I love autumn!

sweet gum 1

sweet gum 2

2 Responses to “I’m Expecting a New Baby!”

  1. Marsha Says:

    You are going to love your 70D. I have a 60D and although I definitely don’t use it to its full potential, I can get some really great pictures. I would suggest taking a class to learn your camera. There are some great ones you can take online. I’ve taken one specific to my camera at BetterPhoto.com. I’ve also signed up for a basic DSLR class on Craftsy.com. The nice thing about Craftsy classes is you can do them at your own pace and they’re available to you indefinitely.

    I like your leaf pictures. Our leaves haven’t turned yet, but as soon as they do I want to get out there and get some photos.

  2. Suzette Says:

    Thanks for the tip! I didn’t know Craftsy had such classes. I don’t know why I didn’t think of them, though. I’ve taken cake decorating and quilting Craftsy classes. I’m going over there right now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

